A joyous blessing

First Day 21My life has been greatly blessed this past week.  A baby grandson was born just a few days ago.  He is my one, and possibly only, grandchild.  I love him to pieces!  His name is Elliott.  I was curious about the origin of that name.  I looked it up, and most of the sources credit it as an old English/Welsh/Scotch version of the Hebrew name Elijah.

Elijah means “One with God” or “The Lord is my God“.

Interestingly enough,  I once painted an icon for37-elijah-004 Elliott’s dad–ages ago. I chose the image myself, and designed the composition to incorporate a biblical story that had meaning to him.

The image I chose way back then, out of all the possibilities in Christian and biblical history, was the Prophet Elijah.

Most of the daily readings at Mass these past 2 weeks have been about Elijah, too!

Holy Prophet Elijah, pray for little Elliott. Pray for all of his family, that they might be blessed with good health, kept safe, and live lives showered with the grace and goodness of God.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholic icons, Catholicism, Christian Prayer, Icon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A joyous blessing

  1. SR says:

    I am sorry and I love the post, but when do I get to squeeze that looking “one month old baby????”
    He is so precious. There are no wrinkles on him, my goodness!! I had to go today and look again at the pictures you sent to me. Hmmmmm…. I wonder if another name is going to be placed on this blessed child like….. Spoiled with Love??? You know the rules change don’t you? These grandbabies never do one thing wrong, ever!!!!!!!! Every single thing they do is “cute.” As my daughter always says when it comes to her kids, “Let me tell you something kids, this is not the same woman who raised me!” I have to admit, this is not a lie! 🙂 Give Elliot a great big hug, and a great big kiss for me. Love you and God Bless, SR

    • reinkat says:

      I cannot imagine Elliot being anything less than perfect at anything. I will certainly give him a hug and kiss for you! Maybe more than one!
      I remember asking my dad, after watching him with my children: who are you really, and what did you do with my real father?
      Thanks for sharing and encouraging!!

  2. Cornell says:

    May God grant him many years to live, to be glad and full of energy.

  3. SR says:

    Hmmm………. no new post???? Are we busy being a “Grandma!?” 🙂 Will be emailing some time this week. Love ya, SR

Leave a Reply

