A Prayer for the Strayed

Inspiration can come from all sorts of places. Years ago I found a beautiful prayer for unbelievers inside a novel by Jan Karon.  The words expressed my sentiments perfectly, and I copied it out for my own use.  I have adapted and said it for my own fallen-away family members often.  I would like to share it with you,  as I complete my icon for those who have turned away from faith.  It has been part of my prayer process.

Abba,

Bless Your child (—) with the reality of Your presence.  By the power of Your Holy Spirit, so move in (his/her) heart and life that (he/she) cannot ignore or turn away from Your love for (him/her).

Go, Lord, into that darkness where no belief dwells, where no candle burns, where no solace can be found, and kindle Your love in (him/her) in a deep and powerful way.

Pour out Your love upon (her/him), Lord, with such tenderness that (he/she) cannot turn away.  Pour out Your love, Lord, with such mercy that (he/she) cannot deny Your grace.  Fill (his/her) heart with certainty–the confidence and certainty that You made (him/her) for Yourself, that You might take delight in (her/his) service.

Thank you, Lord, for the good (she/he) has already done for Your kingdom, no matter the reasons (he/she) may have had.  Thank you, Father, for this time in Your presence–for holding all of us in the circle of Your love and grace.  With all of my heart, I ask you to turn (—) back to You.  Call (her/him) to repent and become Yours for all eternity.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Used with permission.  Adapted from In This Mountain by Jan Karon, published by Putnam, an imprint of Penguin Publishing Group, a division of Penguin Random House LLC. Copyright © 2002 by Jan Karon.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Catholic icons, Catholicism, Christian Prayer, Icon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Prayer for the Strayed

  1. Thank you for sharing the prayer. The Icon looks wonderful, and I am looking forward to more posts of it in the future.

Leave a Reply

