Thoughts on the Sacred Heart of Jesus

I had never spent too much time thinking about this particular devotion in the past.  Typical of me, when I finally did sit down to consider it all, the thoughts came to me via the prayerful writing of an icon.

My mother has a devotion to the Sacred Heart, saying her daily rosary outside by her flower garden, in front of a 2 foot-tall statue of the Sacred Heart amongst the roses.  She prays for us, her children,  in the soft morning light as she starts her day.

A couple of years back, I made for her, as a gift, an icon of the Sacred Heart, trying to translate the “language” of a sacred painting into the Byzantine style of a formal icon. The results were of mixed success, but the usual process of prayer as I worked on it opened up for me the beauty of this devotion, and the meaning of giving oneself heart and soul to Jesus.

Mom's Sacred Heart Icon

Mom’s Sacred Heart Icon

There is a new website to honor and to encourage devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus.  Many thanks to Ryan at The Back of the World and Laura at Catholic Cravings for their hard work on it.  It’s called O Most Sacred Heart, and you can click here to have a look at it.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Catholic icons, Icon, Iconography, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thoughts on the Sacred Heart of Jesus

  1. Beautiful art. Beautiful post!

  2. Renée Lin says:

    Mixed success? It’s beautiful!

  3. Josemaria626 says:

    Do you allow others to commission icons? I am looking for a way to commission a Sacred Heart icon.

Leave a comment